Dart Den

Full Version: What is a proper Tank Size ?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

reptilicus81

Hi all! I am an avid snake keeper, but I would like to venture into the PDF hobby. I am a biology teacher and I would like to have a classroom tank. I have three to choose from a ten gallon would be ideal for transportation purposes! I have a 15 gallon tall that would also be pretty easy to move around, and I have a 45 gallon hexagon, which would require a lot of help to trasport. I would like to keep a pair of auratus ...obviously I could expand on that number if I used the 45 gallon. What do you think would be best to start with?

Also, for two PDF how many fruitflies should I put in for them and should they eat daily or every other day?

Thanks,
Amy
Hi Amy,
welcome to the hobby.

Any of the tanks that you have mentioned will work for the auratus. A couple of auratus would be ok in the 10. Basically the only difference between the 10 and 15 is the height. The 45 hex you could house 3 or 4.

How often would you need to move the tank?

As for how many fruit flys, this will depend on the frogs. Juvi frogs will eat less than adults, but have a tendency to eat more frequently. A good place to start would be to offer them 10-15 flys per frog. This number can be adjusted up or down once you determine if they have all been consumed by the next feeding.
Also be sure you are dusting your flys with a good vitamin and calcium supplement.

reptilicus81

I am familar with dusting as we do this for our bearded dragon. I would have to transport them 4 times a year. I may set up the 45 gallon at my house and see how things work out... I enjoy PDF, so even if I can't make it work for school, it will be cool none the less at my house!

Amy

OutsidetheBox

Don't give away those extra tanks though, because it's a well known fact in this hobby that once you start, it's really hard to stop!!

reptilicus81