Dart Den

Full Version: new to dart frogs
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new to dart frogs but have experiance with pac mans I am starting a setup fort darts and have a few question here they are
1. Can darts coinhabit with red eyed tree frogs in a 90 gal tank?
2.I have a 48" combo fixture that holds 1 floresent and 4 incadesent bulbs what would be a good combo of lights for darts in the 90gal tank. (48Lx25Hx18w) ?
3.what is the recomended temp/humidity for darts ?
4. Are fruit flies better than crickets for food ?

All info anyone can give is wellcomed and appreciated.
Thanks
darttkm Wrote:I am new to dart frogs but have experiance with pac mans I am starting a setup fort darts and have a few question here they are
1. Can darts coinhabit with red eyed tree frogs in a 90 gal tank?
2.I have a 48" combo fixture that holds 1 floresent and 4 incadesent bulbs what would be a good combo of lights for darts in the 90gal tank. (48Lx25Hx18w) ?
3.what is the recomended temp/humidity for darts ?
4. Are fruit flies better than crickets for food ?

All info anyone can give is wellcomed and appreciated.
Thanks

Hi and Welcome !

1. There are a lot of issues, considerations and potential problems to surmount before considering any mixed species tank, including one with the two species you have listed. It would be something to consider after one has several years of frog keeping under one's belt and not recommended for new hobbyists.

2. Dart Frogs are Diurnal (Active during the day) but don't bask per se, or need special lighting. Lighting requirements are more for plants and plant growth.

3. Good Dart Frog Temps are usually the same good room temperatures for your house - around 72-79 F during the day and a drop of 5-12 degrees at night are ok.

4. Fruit Flies are easier, cheaper and "better" to use as a feeder insect than Crickets.