Dart Den

Full Version: Frog and Plant Pictures, and an Introduction.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
This is a great feature to have on a forum. It's nice to be able to say hello before wading into a forum.

I'll start with an image to keep your interest...

A shot from our terribilis tank. These, and bicolors are my favorite dendrobatids bar none. I think it is because their eyes are a distinct color from their bodies. It makes them look very intelligent and inquisitive.
[Image: 574569_517505338276711_330630180_n.jpg]

I am a veteran of the herp hobby. I started out breeding cornsnakes and kingsnakes 15 plus years ago. I have also worked extensively with chameleons, geckos, and hognosed snakes. Around 2001, a friend of mine gave me 3 Dwarf Cobalt tinc froglets, and I began my dart frog addiction.

I have kept small numbers of frogs, and high numbers of plants over the years and have thoroughly enjoyed the hobby. I am a big plant nerd (though not nearly to the extent of some) and I enjoy growing, propagating and manicuring the plants almost as much as I love the frogs.

I recently became part owner of a small company called Emerald Exotics. We build custom glass terraria for dart frogs, reptiles and other amphibians, propagate terrarium plants, breed and sell dart froglets, breed and sell tokay geckos, and breed and sell western hognosed snakes.

I spend a great deal of my time caring for our large collection of animals and plants, and it is the best job ever. Smile

Ok, if I'm losing you... here are some frogs and plants from some of our vivs...

Cobalt Froglet Tree Walking:
[Image: 185047_517505388276706_2032928372_n.jpg]

Leucs in their grow out tank. There are ten of them in this ten gallon tank, and I managed to get five in one shot. (fruit flies assisted in this endeavor)
[Image: 304936_517505548276690_1451166183_n.jpg]

azureus "frogpole" getting close.