Intro from Oklahoma

Introduce yourself to the members. Any general Announcements.
Lanthia

Intro from Oklahoma

Postby Lanthia » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:32 am

Hi Froggers,

I'm Sheryl from Edmond, OK.

Last month I walked into my lfs and saw a vivarium with some darling little orange/black dotted frogs. I was fascinated so the owner of the shop invited me to her house to see her critter room. The whole experience wowed me. (And that chameleon, gorgeous...maybe next project.) Anyway, I am hooked.

After all my research, this is my understanding of what I need in order to create a good habitat for df's. Please correct me about any of my conclusions.

I am using the 25 gal. tank, 24 x 12 x 20. Although I have 35 years with fish, I am a beginner with pdf's so as much as I want to hop right in, I am restraining myself. I think I want D. tinctorius "Robertus" as my first pdf's. On one vid (out of about the 1401 I've viewed) the"Robertus" were climbing so my taller tank will work.

I have made some fake rocks to use with the cork on my background. Of course, I originally was going to have a drip wall using these rocks but after reading all the "no water in the vivarium" comments, I am rethinking this. Doesn't a drip wall help keep up the humidity? This is where you can slam me because you know I am waffling....

My biggest question is about the substrate. My friend uses none. She uses hydroton, mesh, then leaves. Her viv's look great and she has to thin out plants quite often. I don't know how her microfauna population is.

On another forum I read about making your own clay substrate which supposedly increases froglet's calcium intake. It was an old post. Any comments on this?

I think I am going with ABG. But then I read where it bogs down and should be cut with something? What about long fiber sphagnum as a layer between dirt and leaves...needed?

I found a lot of conflicting info out there and would love some guidance.

Thanks for the help,

Sheryl

Philsuma
Site Owner