Dart Den

Full Version: First Tad :D - Pics
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
azureus egg cleaved late and hatched early! Is this a temp thing?
There is one more egg to hatch...already lost 3 Sad

Gina
Congratulations! I'm a newb and my first darts (azureus!) have begun breeding. Figured I'd give you some dates and counts from the first two clutches my pair produced for comparison.

They produced a clutch on 7/14 of 5 eggs in a bromeliad (tight squeeze), 4 of which were developing for the first 9 days. On 7/23 they began producing a second clutch of 6 eggs in a petri dish in a cave toward the back of the viv...the inexperienced male kept going back to the bromeliad (my guess was he was attempting to fertilize the original clutch again instead of the new one). He ended up displacing the eggs so I removed the first clutch, but 3 of the remaining 4 stopped developing. It's 7/28 and my single egg from 7/14 continues to develop, but it has not hatched. The second clutch currently only has two eggs developing, though they seem to be coming along slower than the first clutch.

Room temp is 78 during the day, 76 at night.

Hope this helps - sorry I can't be of more help - this is all new to me. I've been posting pictures of the remaining egg's development on another thread FWIW. Good luck!
^^ Good Temps....try to keep steady and no 4-5 or more degree swings either up or down.

Keep moist - water to the edge of the eggs but never covering. Use 'regular' water and never R.O / Reverse osmosis or Distilled (will kill the embryo).
Phil--Why would RO or distilled water be harmful to the embryo? We use it to mist, I would think it would be preferred?
I'm no expert, but I have looked into this lately and I found this thread on water to be an interesting read:
http://dartden.com/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=...led#p21611

I pulled a few posts that I found helpful:
Philsuma Wrote:IMO: