Dart Den

Full Version: Advice before building viv
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, everyone. I'm new to this hobby and would like some advice before starting to build a new vivarium.

I just purchased a used, large corner fish tank (I believe it's about 30 or 35 gallons) that I would like to set up for my frogs. It's 26" high and the two sides are 20" long with the front three panels measuring nearly 13" each. So, it looks like half of a hexagon. Currently, I have 2 varaderos in a ten gallon vertical tank , 2 tiny varaderos that I just got at the Hamburg show in a quarantine tank, three azureus in two separate 10 gallon tanks and a leuc in another 10 gallon tank.

My first question is whether or not I should use the foam background. I bought some pond foam, (which works just like the Great Stuff, I guess) but I saw a few comments on the forum that the foam backgrounds are not recommended. Why is that?

Secondly, I purchased a pump to install a water feature, but I also read that they can create more trouble than they're worth and are really not necessary.

Finally, I was wondering if it would be safe to put the imitators and the azureus in the tank together, since the tincs would be mainly on the ground and the imitators would likely stay up high. Would this tank be large enough to accomodate those two species? I'm not planning to breed or sell any frogs.

I'm not in any hurry to build the tank, and I want to make sure that it's done right, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Sherri
Not nearly large enough enclosure.

That particular species selection has been done a few times by advanced hobbyists and the enclosure sizes I think they were , were at least '100 gallon' size.

I would not recommend attempting a mixed species enclosure to anyone without 2 years of previous dart frog experience and also experience with 2-3 different species.