Dart Den

Full Version: Cultures crashing or going nowhere
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been doing this for five years and I still can't get it right. I'll make 3 or 4 cultures and add flies and everything thing seems to be going right - I can see maggots forming and they start climbing the sides and going into a pupae and then hatch and then nothing. Sometimes the cultures are good but suddenly they stop producing.

I normally leave the cultures exposed but in the house. I've heard humidity is really important and some people keep them in plastic containers.

I use Josh's Frogs fly media and it's good. I can produce booming cultures. Sometimes I have so many flies I have to empty some of the flies outside. I normally have a problem during the summer but just this week I ran into problems again.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Check to see what the humidity levels are in the room that you're keeping them in. IMO it should be at least 50%. Between 50% and 60% is ideal.

10 bux they're drying out. A dry culture is a dead culture.
When you say dry, what do you mean? Every once in a while one of the cultures will get a crust on it but it doesn't effect it from being a high producing culture.

I'm going to set-up a Sterilite tub with a false bottom so I can have water at the bottom so it can help create humidity. I've seen someone else do this.