Dart Den
Serving the Dart Frog Community Since 2004...
Dart Den

Serving the Dart Frog Community Since 2004...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
large paludarium idea
hi all i am new to dart frogs actually dont even have them yet just doing research. so a little background i have been keeping african cichlids for a couple years and wanted to do a dwarf central american tank so i was doing research on them and ran across people using them in a paludarium and fell in love with the idea. so after doing more research it was suggested by a few people to put dart frogs in to occupy the background and the land area. so here i am.

so my plan is for a tank that is kind of a wedge shaped pentagon. the long side is 48 inches, the short side is 32 inches and the short sides of the front are 10 inches long. i am planning 20 inches of water for a total of 100 gallons. i will have a land area that extends over the water in the back corner i will also have two flying root trees in the front corners that will have roots that come out of the water and a couple branches that span the length of the tank and also come onto the land area to provide the frogs a way to get onto them. the top of the tank will be 20 inches high and i would like to hard scape this area so that the frogs will be happy. all the hardscaping will be built with Styrofoam and latex based drylock cement and covered in live plants

so if i were to keep say 5 to 6 frogs in this setup how much land area would i need at water level for them to be happy. from what i have read the bank of the land area at water level should drop off quickly so that the frogs cant hold others underwater. i am also planning on having some stickups in the water to provide areas where a frog can get out of the water if it falls in.