Dart Den
Serving the Dart Frog Community Since 2004...
Dart Den

Serving the Dart Frog Community Since 2004...

how strictly do we adhere to biotope 'correct' Vivariums ?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
how strictly do we adhere to biotope 'correct' Vivariums ?
I'm still new to the hobby, but I wanted to start a discussion on how closely we really attempt to recreate all facets of an animal's biotope. I don't want this thread to deteriorate into a mixing discussion - assume one species of animal and the discussion focuses on plants / viv design. Coming from the aquarium hobby, there are some biotope violations that I find acceptable, like plants in a Tanganyikan tank because it (1) improves water quality and (2) provides a more visually appealing display for non-enthusiasts.

I did not give this question much thought during my viv build, and I'm wondering if many hobbyists invest significantly in selecting plants from the animal's specific region versus what "looks nice". My main focus, and what I saw from my research, was on providing a safe environment, adequate hides, the correct moisture and humidity, and visually interesting plantings. So, how true are most folks to plant selection, vine / tree designs, rock work, and accent selection for a viv that are true to the biotope? I was not :oops: but it seems acceptable if we maintain the key environmental parameters while taking some liberties on plant selections or visually appealing landscape designs. Either way my frogs seem quite happy, er, at least they are growing, plump, and visible Smile

I don't see a right or wrong answer here, in fact I fully expect a spectrum of responses. I'm just curious about what the general trends are in the hobby. So I'd love to hear opinions!
Jim from Austin | https://www.oneillscrossing.com/dart-frogs/
fantastica nominant | summersi | reticulata | A barbotini