Dart Den

Full Version: New to Frogs!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

PMPT

I was referred to this message board by a friend off of another message board, that one for marine fish.

I've recently come into possession of a tank that is designed for frogs. I've never tried any kind of frogs before and think it would be fun. I've been doing saltwater tanks for about 3-4 years, and really enjoy that.

My question is, what is a good frog to start off with? Nothing too hard, but fun, good personality, bright colors. I don't want anything too expensive, seeing as I'm going to school and my SW tank takes up most of my $$$.

Any help, suggestions or ideas would be wonderful. Oh, and the tank is a 10 gal. I know its small, maybe one or two frogs. But I'm just tinkering with this to see if I really like it before I get a larger setup. Thanks all!
hello and welcome to what i think is an amazing forum. there are lots of posts about beginner frogs, and i'll point out that there is a search function on this site....it took me a while to find it, so don't think i'm being condescending! Big Grin so you can look at what others suggest, but i think it's fair to say that the most commonly reccomeded frogs for beginners are auratus and tinctorius. given that personality is one of your criteria, i say go for tincs....auratus hide a lot but tincs are quite gregarious and seem to associate you with food, versus being a threat. tincs are colorful, hardy, and easy to view and enjoy! lots of luck, and hopefully we'll see a lot more of you here.

KarenH

Of course the auratus are the cheapest, but I'd have to agree and say go for the tincs or the leucs.

Welcome, you'll find a lot of dart keepers are also reefers, myself included.

Karen

PMPT

Thanks for the advice. Know of any good online dealers to get frogs? I'll do a search on the forum and see what is said. I'll also do a google on the tincts.